EM – Opener Smriti Mandhana is the only Indian on the 2021 ICC Women’s T20I team


England’s Nat Sciver has been named captain of the team, while Amy Jones will don the wicket-keeper gloves.

Published: January 19, 2022 4:50 p.m. |

Last updated: January 19, 2022 4:50 p.m

| AA A-

DUBAI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday named the T20I Women’s Team of the Year (2021) and India’s opening batsman Smriti Mandana was included in the XI.

England’s Nat Sciver became named captain of the team while Amy Jones will don the wicket-keeper gloves.

The team only has one Indian while several players from England have been named in the line-up.

With 255 runs on an average by 31.87, Smriti Mandhana was India’s top scorer in this format in 2021. She hit two fifties in the nine games she played that year and regularly helped her side make quick starts as her course of 131, 44.

Tammy Beaumont’s dependable presence at the head of the Order has consistently provided England with steady starts. She played nine matches and amassed 303 runs with a 33.66 average, including three fifties.

Danni Wyatt, Beaumont’s partner-in-crime at the head of the order, had an equally good time in 2021. Wyatt accumulated 252 runs in nine games with a 31.50 average. While Beaumont had a solid presence at one end, Wyatt attacked the bowlers as her 133.33 batting average would suggest.

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year: Smriti Mandhana (India), Tammy Beaumont (England ), Danni Wyatt (England), Gaby Lewis (Ireland), Nat Sciver (c) (England), Amy Jones (England), Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Loryn Phiri ( Zimbabwe), Shabnim Ismail (South Africa).

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we must be sensible when moderating your comments. All comments are moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial team. Do not make obscene, defamatory, or inflammatory comments or engage in personal attacks. Try to avoid external hyperlinks within the comment. Help us remove comments that do not comply with these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments posted on newindianexpress.com are solely those of the comment writers. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its employees, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group or any entity or subsidiary of The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to remove any or all comments at any time.

Obscene comments against Muslim women: Delhi Police ask Clubhouse app for chat organizer’s details

Karnataka CM Basavaraj Bommai recovering from COVID says curb easing decision likely to be made Jan 21

Alumni of prominent institutions write PM Narendra Modi on Sulli Deals and Bulli Bai

The Morning Standard | Dinamani | Kannada Prabha | Samakalika Malayalam | Pleasure Express | Edex Live | Cinema Express | Event Xpress

Contact Us | About us | Careers | Privacy Policy | Search | Terms of Use | Advertise with us

Home | people | world | Cities | business | Columns | Entertainment | Sports | Magazine | The Sunday standard


International Cricket Council,Twenty20 International,Babar Azam,ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year,Pakistan national cricket team,Captain (cricket),ICC Men’s T20 World Cup,Smriti Mandhana,Mohammad Rizwan,South Africa national cricket team,International Cricket Council, Twenty20 International, Babar Azam, ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year, Pakistan national cricket team, Captain (cricket), ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, Smriti Mandhana, Mohammad Rizwan, South Africa national cricket team,,,,,,,,,Cricket,ICC,ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year,Babar Azam,Mohammad Rizwan,Shaheen Afridi,,,